This site makes use of cookies to help improve our understanding of how you use the site.

BAAT Council & Honorary Positions

Below is a list of the elected BAAT Council Officers and their area of interest. To contact BAAT Council Officers, please email

Claire Louise Vaculik:                  Chair - Education, Children, Young People & Adults

Simon Richardson:                      Honorary Secretary - Homelessness             

Dr Liz Ashby:                                Learning Disabilities, IJAT & Newsbriefing

Dr Susan Carr:                             IJAT & Newsbriefing   

Sophia Cowx:                               Adult Mental Health, EMDR          

Karen Fenna:                               Wales Council Director, Education, Hospice & Palliative Care 

Cliff Free:                                     Children and Young People, Eating Disorders

Vivienne Gibbons:                       Community-based art therapy 

Dominik Havsteen-Franklin:        Adult Mental Health, Mentalization, Research

Colin Sims:                                 Northern Ireland Council Director , Education            

Jude Smit:                                   Adult Mental Health, PTSD, Education & Research



Co-opted Council members:

Nikki Linfield: Children & Young People Advisor

Mandy Leonard: Dual Experience Advisor

Kristina Stamatiou: Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Advisor


Also attending BAAT Council meetings:

Gary Fereday:                Chief Executive Officer

Dr Val Huet:                    Director of Research & Development 

Alex McDonald:              Senior Communications & CPD Commissioning Officer

Honorary Position:

President:                         Professor Diane Waller, OBE.

Research Officer:

Dr Sue Holttum